The Last of the Firedrakes by Farah Oomerbhoy

The Last of the Firedrakes (The Avalonia Chronicles #1)The Last of the Firedrakes by Farah Oomerbhoy

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As I was browsing through the young adult section in the library, the cover of Farah Oomerbhoy’s The Last of the Firedrakes caught my eye and so I added it to my book haul.

The first in Oomerbhoy’s Avalonia Chronicles, it tells the story of 16-year-old Aurora Darlington who gets kidnapped through a portal to a land of magic. Okay, right away this book grabbed my attention as I spent the night reading half the book before falling asleep. But I admit that picking this book back up wasn’t easy.

In the first half of Oomerbhoy’s novel, Aurora is introduced as a young girl who is bullied and her family’s treatment of her rivals that of the Dursley’s. Right away I’m rooting for Aurora because in my mind there’s no place but up for her to go in gaining self-confidence. As Aurora explores this new land, forms friendships and discovers who she really is, its easy to become annoyed with her. I often found myself asking “why” to her actions as I couldn’t understand her feelings/motives throughout most of the book. It isn’t until the end that Aurora finally seems to gain confidence and come into her own but by then its into someone who the journey doesn’t necessarily reflect.

As this is only the first book in Oomerbhoy’s Avalonia Chronicles I do look forward to reading more. Oomerbhoy’s writing is solid and she does a great job getting right into the action. I do hope her second book plunges right into action! I recommend this book to anyone looking to start a new light YA fantasy series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

