Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, EverythingEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

More than halfway through Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything, I was pleasantly surprised. I say pleasantly because the surprise was happy and unexpected. Of course I had heard of this book with its colorful cover and five-star reviews, but I never picked it up and I’m glad that I finally did.

Everything, Everything tells the story of eighteen-year old Madeline Whittier who is literally allergic to the world. In all her eighteen years she has never been outside, but that changes when all-black wearing Olly moves in next door. Soon Madeline finds herself answering to Maddy, falling in love, and wanting a life she can’t have.

I thoroughly enjoyed Yoon’s storytelling from start to finish. The illustrations within Everything, Everything helps the reader to discover who Maddy is and are fun to read. Maddy herself is a likable and fun character even though she’s sick. Yoon’s writing is solid as she takes you on a journey of love and risks.

Representation matters, and it’s wonderful that there’s such a popular book by a woman of color about a woman of color. Yes, this book had me a bit teary during some chapters but I still recommend this book to everyone. Now that I’ve completed Everything, Everything, The Suns Is Also a Star is definitely on my tbr list.

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

